Week 47: another week in Setubal

Oiiiiii!!!
okay so let me just first get this out of the way-
I survived my first assalt!!!! hhahaa. Literally every day of the mission Ive been just waiting to be assalted and it finally happened. Got it over with!! Mom, dont freak out. It was not a big deal at all. It was basically a 1/2 assalt. It was 3:30 PM and we had just finished knocking a door and talking to a lady, and I took out the phone to call the secretary to pass her reference for other missionaries (bc she doesnt live here) We were on the sidewalk. and a guy with a pink helmet on a motorcycle, drove his moto onto the sidewalk and just started yelling “cellphone cellphone! Now!! all 3 of you!!” And we all freaked out, and I handed him the phone and he looked at the other 2 sisters and was like “ALL 3 of you!!” And i was like “Were missionaries, we only have 1 phone!” And he took it, drove off a little, then handed it back to me. He looked super nervous. I think it was his first assalt or something lol because he needed more practice. But i dont think he had a gun or anything, so it wasnt that scary. But now when I hear a motorcyle behind me I get super nervous! But all in all, it wasnt a big deal and now we can just look back and laugh on this.

So Marcilios baptism was remarked for the 21st because the primary wants to do a party for him.

This week we were walking in the street and a man asked if he coiuld talk to us. Turns out hes a less active RM who just moved here from Sao Paulo. Super cool! Jairo. He explained that he’s here living with his brother (also less active) and their 2 wives who arent members. So he invited us over and we started teaching his wife and sister in law. Elaine and Alexandra. Theyre so cute and cool!!! And so interested!!! Kinda similar situation that Brandon has right now; Jairo is coming back to the church and Elaine and him are gonna get married in the church on the 28th. She’ll get baptized after the wedding or the next day on Sunday. Im so excited!!!! So were going to plan a wedding in 3 weeks. they’re so cute. Shes a hairstylist and they love makeup, perfume, etc. Everytime we teach there, they want to paint our nails, or spray us with perfume or spray stuff in my hair, etc. Elaine and Jairo came to church yesterday! She liked it a lot. The only problem is that they dont have money for the wedding. Its 250 reals. So I was gonna ask you guys if i could pay for it? itd be like 65 dollars. I can take it out of my debit account that has my own money. I need to call president and just make sure its fine that i do this!
We are teaching so many couples who need to get married! But theyre all so elect and cool.

The other cool thing this week was that we ate lunch at an Irmas house on Tues, and she has an 18 yr old daughter, Deborah, who’s pregnant. And she said, “Sisters, my daughter was baptized when she was 8 but somehow her records didnt get into the system. So bishop said she needs to be baptized again. She wants you guys to teach her the lessons” So cool! So its a sad situation bc shes preganant with some guy way older than her that she was dating, and now theyre broken up. But we started teaching her and I think shell be baptixzed tthis month too. Shes super cute! She was like “Can i be baptized pregnant?” cutest lil belly. She travelled this weekend but were gonna meet with her this week and mark a date.

An irma gave me JIF peanut butter this week. So sweet!!! I miss food from the US so much. The area im in now is like a richer area, so lots of people have travelled to the US and they all talk about the food and stuff there and it makes me miss it. Lots of people talk about IHOP..they dont know whats good. and some guy is obsessed with that COCOs place. But some guy also loves taco bell and it made me think of Brandon hahaa. I actually really miss mexican food. Like a lot! Brazilian food is a lot different!

Our area is next to the airport and i hear planes taking off everyday and it gives me like the butterflies thinking of when im gonna go home!

On the 11th this week, Ill have exactly 6 months left. So insane! It really does go super fast. Its not a lie when everyone says that haha

Ive been thinking a lot this week about the Plan of Salvation. Its literally SOooooo perfect. Everything makes so much sense. Also I was thinking about how grandioso (i dont even know the word in english anymore?) god is. He created such beautiful things for us! Brasil really is such a beautiful place. Sometimes its dirty in the streets and has lots of trash and grafitti, but then i look up. And the sky here is sooo beautiful and the trees and greenery. Were in recife right now for pday and on the busride here, I was looking out the window and we passed by the beach, and all this pretty scenery and I was just thinking how im really lucky to be here. Its such a cool experience. Heavenly Father is so merciful and so loving that he gave me this experience. The mission has really changed my life. I know thats super cliché but its something I cant deny. Im obviously the same person with the same flaws and stuff, but my mind has opened so much. I LOVE studying about this gospel. There is so much to learn, its crazy. Im studying this cool book that Cathy sent me. Its a guide to all the scriptures and Ive been learning such cool stuff!! Thanks catherine!!! ❤

Thank you for the prayers and support. And dont worry about me, I am happy and I know that Heavely Father really protects his missionaries. I truly know that He does! Theres no way he doesnt, after all the sketchy places Ive walked here haha. Hope you all have a great week! I love you!

Sher

Leave a Reply

